Author Topic: Conversion to 4 speed auto  (Read 1809 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Darylle

  • Two Barrel
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • I'm new here
  • Location: Wollongong
Conversion to 4 speed auto
« on: October 01, 2016, 05:33:19 PM »
Hi everyone
Newbie here,I recently purchased a '78 pace car and am interested in going 4 speed auto and was wondering if any recent info is available regarding this conversion. Ideally I am looking for a supplier and or a company that can supply and fit in Sydney area.
Thanks in advance.

Offline Bfit

  • Don't talk of dust and roses
  • Supercharged
  • ******
  • Posts: 2660
  • Two one thousands
  • Location: NSW
  • Mood: Honey reinforced
  • Car: Yes
Re: Conversion to 4 speed auto
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2016, 11:01:03 AM »
You will need a cable kick down box out of a VN VP .

Bfit
Freedom's just another word for nothin' left to lose
George Orwell 1984

Offline sirfixalot

  • Fuel Injected
  • *****
  • Posts: 572
  • Committee Member & Tech Adviser C3-C4
  • Location: Gods Country Sutherland S
Re: Conversion to 4 speed auto
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2016, 02:53:08 PM »
Did my 78 a few years ago have a few pics if you want to email me. Is a very easy conversion all the T350 pipes , torque convertor , tailshaft yolk, flywheel cover fit.You can buy a shifter kit for console includes the gear shift sector all bolts up to the original shifter. The tounge on X-member has to be shortened about 30mm, tailshaft about 50mm,depending on how exhaust has been done may have to redo engine pipe on RHside as rear corner of pan is farther back it may hit on exhaust pipe before it goes thru the x- member

Offline Darylle

  • Two Barrel
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • I'm new here
  • Location: Wollongong
Re: Conversion to 4 speed auto
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2016, 11:11:44 PM »
Thank you for the replies, I really appreciate the info prior to jumping in. The exhaust is to be replaced so no issue there, all I need now is a reliable supplier.
I thought the converter had to be changed to "lock up" type or is that an option?

Offline sabre

  • Tri Powered
  • ****
  • Posts: 294
  • C4 Rocks but Excalibur Cruises
  • Location: Glossodia
  • Mood: How good is retirement!
Re: Conversion to 4 speed auto
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2016, 08:08:59 PM »
The lockup function on the T 700 is electronic. Normally controlled by the ECU but can either not be used or manually switched to get the economy.

Offline Bfit

  • Don't talk of dust and roses
  • Supercharged
  • ******
  • Posts: 2660
  • Two one thousands
  • Location: NSW
  • Mood: Honey reinforced
  • Car: Yes
Re: Conversion to 4 speed auto
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2016, 09:33:44 PM »
Here is an article you need to read , it will give you something to think about.

 http://www.hotrodhandbooks.com.au/eBooks/TPI/TPI%20On%20Line-11-5.html

This one may take a moment to load

http://www.rowand.net/Shop/Tech/LockupTCCWiring.htm

Bfit
Freedom's just another word for nothin' left to lose
George Orwell 1984

Offline Darylle

  • Two Barrel
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • I'm new here
  • Location: Wollongong
Re: Conversion to 4 speed auto
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2016, 09:21:24 PM »
WOW!!
Information overload, not really I knew I joined the right forum.
Thanks heaps people.